



Wednesday, 2 August 2023

To All Councillors:

As a Member or Substitute of the **Scrutiny Committee**, please treat this as your summons to attend a meeting on **Thursday**, **10 August 2023** at **6.00 pm** in the **Council Chamber**, **Town Hall, Matlock, DE4 3NN**

Yours sincerely,

James McLaughlin

Director of Corporate and Customer Services

This information is available free of charge in electronic, audio, Braille and large print versions, on request.

For assistance in understanding or reading this document or specific information about this Agenda or on the "Public Participation" initiative please call the Committee Team on 01629 761133 or email committee@derbyshiredales.gov.uk

AGENDA

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Please advise the Democratic Services Team on 01629 761133 or email committee@derbyshire.gov.uk of any apologies for absence.

2. PUBLIC PARTICIPATION

To enable members of the public to ask questions, express views or present petitions, **IF NOTICE HAS BEEN GIVEN**, (by telephone, in writing or by email) **BY NO LATER THAN 12 NOON OF THE WORKING DAY PRECEDING THE MEETING**. As per Procedural Rule 14.4 at any one meeting no person may submit more than 3 questions and no more than 1 such question may be asked on behalf of one organisation.

3. INTERESTS

Members are required to declare the existence and nature of any interests they may have in subsequent agenda items in accordance with the District Council's Code of Conduct. Those interests are matters that relate to money or that which can be valued in money, affecting the Member, their partner, extended family and close friends. Interests that become apparent at a later stage in the proceedings may be declared at the time.

4. SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME 2023/24 (Pages 3 - 14)

This report aims to assist the Committee in setting its Work Programme for the 2023/24 municipal year.

5. COMPLAINTS ANNUAL REPORT 2022-23 (Pages 15 - 26)

This report provides information on formal complaints made under the District Council's internal Complaints Procedures; those referred to the Local Government Ombudsman, and against individual elected member behaviour at town, parish and District Council level.

<u>Members of the Committee</u> - Councillors Robert Archer, Nigel Norman Edwards-Walker, Gareth Gee, David Hughes (Chair), Laura Mellstrom, Tony Morley, Roger Shelley, Peter Slack (Vice-Chair), Nick Whitehead and Nick Wilton

Substitutes – Councillors Kelda Boothroyd, Sue Burfoot, Peter Dobbs, Stuart Lees, Dermot Murphy and Simon Ripton

NOTE

For further information about this Agenda or on "Public Participation" call 01629 761133 or email committee@derbyshiredales.gov.uk